125 gallon stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BHead707

Aquarium Advice FINatic
very close to getting a 125 gallon tank, what kind of stocking is possible for this. I want cichlids but i am a cichlid noob. I want color and fish that get pretty big, but still want a decent number of them in the tank.

Check out the Malawi cichlids. I love em a lot. Check out the yellow labs and the Kenyis they are beautiful here are a picture of my fry

Attachments

• image-1325033987.jpg
    image-1325033987.jpg
    65.4 KB · Views: 120
  • image-2784193482.jpg
    image-2784193482.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 96
  • image-1885877519.jpg
    image-1885877519.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 110
  • image-2242133081.jpg
    image-2242133081.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 117
when stocking do you want to try and keep cichlids from the same area? for example only keep malawis? or can you mix south american and malawi together?

Very nice chiclids! Beautiful colors. Some chiclids get alomg and some dont. Im not sure about those but my tiger oscar and jack dempsy did not like each other.

I have a 150G African Cichlid tank that has been up for 2 years now. When I started the tank I mixed Africans and south americans. Had 2 jacks and 2 green terrors. Jacks were gone before the first 6 months was up because I realized I had a few of my Africans missing. Green terrors weren't as aggressive but the bigger they got the bigger their attitudes got so they went out the door within the first year too. But I know that there are some south american species that aren't extremely aggressive, such as fire mouths, rams, and ruby clowns that could be possible to mix with other Africans that are on the mild side as well.