90g Rift Valley Cichlids Stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arget

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm trying to determine which cichlids to stock. I'm trying to decide between Mbuna or Julies. My LFS stocks both. I asked them about the ph a while ago, due to reading that they are sensitive to shocks. My LFS keeps their tanks at a ph of 7.2, but my tap water is 7.6. Would they be okay with that much of a change? Do I need to soften the water a bit? Do I need to put some limestone in instead? I'm currently working to get a pond built this summer, and once I do then the 90g will be converted after the goldfish move to the pond.

A
African Rift Lake Cichlids are usually kept in hard water with a ph of 8.0 or more. Adding Limestone would be a good way to bump up your PH and buffer against a ph crash.
I've kept Africans but I'm no expert. IMO a good 90 gal. Set up would be one with a large limestone reef, Mbuna to occupy the lower level, a mixture of male Peacocks and Haps to inhabit the mid and upper levels. As for specific varieties, that's where research comes into play. Some of my favorites are: Dragon Blood and Red Shoulder Peacocks, Yellow Lab, Yellow Tail Acei, Red Top Hongi and Malawi Eye Biter

I've done plenty of research already. I currently don't have any experience with cichlids. Limestone is very easy to get a hold of. My LFS sells Texas Holey Rock. I can easily find a rock on the ground and it will most certainly be limestone. Last summer I began picking some up because I thought that I was going to have Julies, but decided on Apistogramma instead. Though the Apistogramma tank is all setup, the only thing missing is the Apistogramma.