African or American ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cichlidworld

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to aquarium advise. Can I have African/south American cichlids together ?

:welcome: to AA! We hope ya enjoy :)

I have to agree with Con and mumma on this and believe most of us cichlid keepers would that have been doing it a while.

Most sa Cichlids can't deal with the hyper aggressiveness of rift lake Cichlids. Most SA Cichlids are just mean and will kill anything that irritates them. So all in all its not a good mix.

Many mbunas are sensitive to protein, while many SA's require meaty foods. In the same tank it would be nearly impossible to keep your mbunas from eating the bloodworms you feed your SAs

Short term - maybe in some cases, long term - no. I get asked this a lot in my job and although customers still go on to mix them together, at some point there back in the shop with there tail between there legs getting advice on mystery fish death, illness - bloat being very common, or other aliments - they will always seek out another staff member knowing that they have brought it upon themselves by not taking advice in the first place, idiots.

Lets be honest in some cases it can work, they did not specify what type fish they wanted.

If you are talking about all them pretty yellow blues happs(?) and what not.. Mixed with Aggressive CA's.... Then no most likely will not work due to aggression and other dietary differences.

O's and say a buttikoferi could co exist in a tank that was big enough. They have the same dietary needs, and y'all know... Unless you are talking about actual wild caught Old world fish... The ph means nothing, all these tank bread fish now a days will acclimate to the tank... And that goes for both sides of the pond (although NW might prefer a lower ph).