Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2014, 04:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
Aquaclear Fish Nursery?

Ok, so I don't have any of my spare filters or parts with me (I just moved and left them in storage, I have a whole box full of various Aquaclear models and some random parts) but i was wondering if it would be possible to turn a AC filter into a fish nursery. I just had my lophiobagrus cyclurus (dwarf tanganyikan bullhead catfish) spawn and have no room for a spare tank right now. I also can't stand the sound of an air pump as the tank is in my room, so that removes the possibility of an air driven nursery. The tank is only a 20 gallon long, so a mesh would be difficult as well. So here's my plan:

Take a larger AC filter, like a 50 or 70, and remove the impeller. I would replace it with an impeller from the model 1 size down (smaller impeller=less flow). I would add some sponge around the inside, so the fry couldn't swim into the impeller or anything. If the flow was still too strong, I could either go lower on the impeller size, or put a porous material in the intake tube. I would possibly silicone a small piece of grid/mesh across the overflow, so the fry couldn't jump into the main tank. Finish it off with some moss for the inside.

So does this seem like a viable nursery? Anyone think of any specific downsides to it? Like I said, my supplies are 500 miles away, but eventually I'll be able to go back home and grab the stuff I need. I've seen people use them to make refugiums, which need low flow, so I figured why not use it as a fish nursery? Thanks everyone! I've asked on a couple other sub forums, but I'm not getting anything, thought some on here might be able to help more
__________________

__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
My first thought is the fry being lined to what ever you use to keep them from flowing back into the tank.

Sent from my EVO using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Pinned not lined

Sent from my EVO using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
marsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: CA coast
Posts: 883
if you try it please report back
__________________
marsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
My first thought is the fry being lined to what ever you use to keep them from flowing back into the tank.

Sent from my EVO using Aquarium Advice mobile app
So maybe line that with some sponge as well, remember that the flow will be greatly lessened, so I don't think the overflow would be that strong either. I may try this when ever I visit back home. Can't hurt to try after all


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
If you have a 110 I would use that with a ac20 impeller. Might work. Another option is a fluval spec as a temp or better yet the spec V. I have the 2 gallon spec and the filtration is great and it takes the media from an ac20. Its also dead silent. I got lucky and picked it up at petsmart on a close out for $35.00.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
I have one back in Michigan, but I gutted the filter compartment to get more space, and to use a HOB with it, and am currently broke (waiting to hear back on a job)


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
I do have a spare ac 110 somewhere (left it at my dads house, hopefully it won't disappear somehow)


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
I think its a great idea because the fry will always be in the same tank water and will have a fresh flow going through as long as you can get it low enough.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 05:39 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
That what I was thinking. I just wish I had brought those filters, or at least a few of them


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, clear, fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear Fish Nursery Freakgecko91 DIY Projects 1 07-05-2014 07:00 PM
Aquaclear Fish Nursery Freakgecko91 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 07-05-2014 12:53 PM
Swap: aquaclear 110 and aquaclear 70 capecodaquarium Archive 20 05-26-2012 04:12 PM
Tank divider or nursery to intro baby discus? JenNewbie Cichlid Discussion 4 03-08-2005 09:10 PM
On converting nursery/sick tank to full time tank shawmutt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 06-06-2003 05:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.