beginner African cichlid questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

heemskn

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I bought 9 random African cichlids from the "assorted" variety at walmart, petco and petsmart (in 3 batches). Except for one individual they seem to be doing well in my 55 gallon tank which they share with a mississippi map turtle, 2 cherry barbs, a danio, a black neon tetra, and two Siamese algae eaters. The community fish have lived for over a year with a murderous turtle so they can fend for themselves pretty well, and don't seem to be bothered by the cichlids. But I will move them to another tank next week, to make it a bit less crowded.

I am new to Cichlids so apologies if these are obvious questions:

1. One of the larger Africans has been hanging by herself in or near a cave at a corner of the tank and has never eaten yet. She seems lethargic except when other fish come near her corner, in which case she chases them out. Could she be "holding"? Pictures attached.

2. Is the yellow and black striped fish in the other picture the female version of the electric blue johanni? The blue johanni seems to be the boss in the tank. If yellow/black is the female, should I add another one?

3. The one African that is not doing well looks like a blue kenyi to me, and has a whitish area behind his head. His fins are either always retracted or partially gone, and he swims funny. Unfortunately he is also every shy, unlike the others who come right out to nip at my hands or the net. Should I take him out of the tank and if so, any tips on how to catch him? I have tons of river rocks on the bottom with lots of hiding places. It is going to take me an hour and stress everybody out if I have to take all the rocks out...

Thanks,

Nick

Attachments

• holding.jpg
    holding.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 95
  • holding side view.jpg