Cichlid Substrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishyMamma

Aquarium Advice Freak
Is there a reason most cichlids tanks seem to have gravel substrate and be decorated with rocks?

I understand they need caves for hiding with their young, but can that be done with lots of wood and greenery, also?

I’m totally new to cichlids.

No, dwarf cichlids are usually pretty good. Other cichlids that won't dig / good with plants are angelfish, apistos, maybe geophagus and discus.

They should really be kept in sand. They are little excavators but that is their natural behavior, why deprive them of that? Rams are open spawners, they'll take right to a flat rock or terracotta pot surface. I've seen them fan out a pit to lay eggs in as well. Some cichlids are also sifters, they'll root through sand and filter out their gills or spit it.

I got a firemouth in a planted tank and never had it tear up the plants. I also have gravel but never see him dig. Might depend on the fish.

My Firemouths don't dig, but my Texas Cichlids certainly do. The TC' s also sift through the gravel substrate for food.

My Firemouths don't dig, but my Texas Cichlids certainly do. The TC' s also sift through the gravel substrate for food.
How is the tempermant of your TC? I've been interested in getting one.

I've got two Texas Cichlids, an adult Green Pearl Scale Carpintis and a young adult Red Texas.
The Carpintis was originally sold as a Red Texas. You can tell the physical differences between the two. The (unfaded) Red Texas is pic #2, totally different shape.
Both my TC' s have aggressive dispositions but are kept under control by their fellow somewhat aggressive tankmates, Firemouths, RIvulatus GT, and some refugee African Haps and Peacocks cichlids I recently acquired.