Cloudy tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

liljosh609

Aquarium Advice Activist
My 55 gal. Cichlid tank is a little cloudy, and has been for a while. What could be the causes? How often should I do water changes? My friend has a 20 gL and his water is very clear, and fish are healthy, an he never does water chAnges. How is that?

I'm a newbie but I can tell you when it happened to me my LFS gave me a little cup of this liquid that was brown in color. He said add it all and swish the little container it came with in the water and it should clear in 24 hours. If not then he said we would attack it a different way. Also he told me to cut back on how long I leave the lights on.

Sorry I can't help more, this place is great place to learn but I'll share my experiences and what little knowledge I have.

not the most experienced person here, but i have read that those store bought clarifiers only mask a real problem. what type of filtration do you have on the 55 gal tank?

I've got an aquaclear 50 and a power head. It happened also when I had my tip fin 60. I think its the lights, but I'm not sure. They are on a timer for 8-9 hours. Is tht too much?

It sounds like a bacteria bloom. I would get more filtration and do some water changes and it should clear up on it's own.

liljosh609 said:
Thank you. But what about the lighting?

If your water was green then you'd if know you have to much light.

Beef up you filtration you want 500-550 gallons per hour of filtration for your tank.

What are you water parameters and how long has the tank been set up?

Yea its not green. It is just kind of murky dark. Not too bad. It's been set up for over a year.

The pH is fine and so is ammonia levels. Not sure about nitrate. Last time i checked they were ok

liljosh609 said: