Clown loach and mbunas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I've been keeping them together for 10+ years without a single instance of fighting or deaths. The trick is feeding them, the mbuna are hyper-aggressive at feeding time where the loaches are not. This has been the one and only problem I've encountered. I also keep a single rainbow shark in each Malawi tank, they are great scavengers and their color/body contrast really stand out.

HUKIT said:
I've been keeping them together for 10+ years without a single instance of fighting or deaths. The trick is feeding them, the mbuna are hyper-aggressive at feeding time where the loaches are not. This has been the one and only problem I've encountered. I also keep a single rainbow shark in each Malawi tank, they are great scavengers and their color/body contrast really stand out.

Good,I was thinking about just buying one,but then I read you have to keep 4 or more. I just wanted to know if one could survive in my mbuna tank. What foods do you suggest I should feed it?

doogle said:
two is fine, i keep 2 clowns with my red zebras and electric yellows, powder blues etc... in 55g tank, the clowns are slow growers anyway.

Ok thanks,do they eat the same as the mbuna's?or pacific foods?

doogle said:
mine eat sinking cichlid pellets of the hebivore and regular varieties, flakes and the average foods are fine.

Thanks,I bought one clown this morning,ima go back in the am and get another.....

Tank size will determine if they can be stocked, they are a social schooling fish that should be kept at 5 or more.

HUKIT said:
Tank size will determine if they can be stocked, they are a social schooling fish that should be kept at 5 or more.

I have an 60 gallon long for now,I'm waiting to catch a deal on craigslist for an 125 gallon