Discus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cbourg746

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have decided to turn my 110g tall into a discus tank. I currently have 10 giant danio, 2 red head tapajos, 1 satanoperca leucostica and some small plecos in the tank. I have no experience with discus so my question is, will I be able to keep the current stock with the discus with no issue?

the only problem there might be is how active the red heads will be. discus require pristine water conditions 25% water change every other day to thrive

also plecos produce a lot of waste so you might want to rehome some of them not a good choice for discus tank they have also been known for sucking the slime coating off discus

I really like discus and I've bred them years ago, they are the true kings of South American cichlids so they should be the star of the show...ditch the other cichlids!

I really like discus and I've bred them years ago, they are the true kings of South American cichlids so they should be the star of the show...ditch the other cichlids!

Glad I got tank space cause I don't want to get rid o the rest o the fish.

well.......I took the plunge. i moved all the other fish in the tank and now have a 110g discus only tank. they are adjusting so far and all looks well. they haven't came out very much yet but when they do I'll post some pics. I will be looking to add a few more soon but as of now I have 2 red turquiose, 2 green, 2 colbalt blue and 2 blue snakeskin. i need some red in there asap.

Goodbye geos, cbourg has no more time or money for you now thanks to his discus expedition lol