Discus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

physicsdude

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all! I have a 30 gallon extar tall tank that I am considering putting one discus fish in. However, I have no experience with this animal, and I am curious if my fellow aquarium hobbyists have any suggestions or advice on them. In addition, if I do set up the tank, I would need a very silent yet powerful filter for the fish. Am considering the new Rena Filstar XP series, but am open to ideas...Thanks for any advice my friends!!!

You could also consider one of the Fluval Models, I have the 304 for my 55g tank and its really quiet.

oh my god

you have to study up for quite a while for a disucs

they are the pickiest fish ever!!!!! they need EXACT water chemistry you have to tend to their every need, and start out with a small one so that way you arent out like $100 for 1 discus

owning Discus is like owning SW they need to be precise and have to have the EXACT chemistry

so hope you study up on the discus

IMO they are beautiful especially the snakeskin

Yes, I know that they are the most difficult fish to take care of, that's the reason why I want to house them! No, I don't need to study for discus, as they dont' require special foods, but just very clean water conditions maintained at near constant levels. Saltwater tanks are easy, but hard to keep up. Had a twenty gallon SW tank for awhile, but was too costy to maintain, especially while going to college. Kept a pair of seahorses in it. Also, a friend had a monster tank, like 175 gallon where he kept a SW octopus. So, SW is not that hard...
Thanks for the advice on the Fluval, sounds good. Am still looking at the filters for the best.