Does anyone know this cichlid

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
That's definitely a Mbuna from Lake Malawi. I'm no expert on Africans so I can't give you the exact species.

I read the link with skepticism Seth. A cross between a convict and a Mbuna would be one for the record books. I'd say it's almost on par with proving the existance of bigfoot. So you're going to need alot of proof to back up the claim. Still, bigfoot hasn't been proven not to exist.

I need a clear shot of the fish. It's hard to tell but I do agree with Brian that it's an Mbuna from Malawi. The color pattern looks different in the two pics and it could be any number of fish. A clear shot would be the only way to ID.

I also doubt that the African is breeding with a convict. They do not breed in the same manner. Convicts are Substrate Spawners whereas Mbuna are Maternal Mouthbrooders. Mbuna breed with other Mbuna but I've never seen or heard of a documented account of a CA and an African breeding.

I will post a picture of the father probably tomorrow to make sure he is a convict. My fiance saw them breeding about 2 months about and we had a batch of 3 from that and she was recently holding when we put her them in a bigger tank and we have 3 from this batch. We are going to get a little fry tank tomorrow and see if we cant raise them without the jack dempsey eating them.

thanks

seth

I agree with everyone else, need a clearer pic to make an ID. Also probably a good idea to post a pic of the father to confirm what it is.

It is not the Jack dempsey at all. it is the african and the convict that are for sure. It isn't a guess. My fiance witnessed the african laying eggs and taking them into her mouth and the convict swimming in front of her and releasing his in-seam-team for her to take into her mouth to fertilize the eggs.

ilive466 said: