First try with South American cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ilminded

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm in the process of starting a planted community tank. My plan was to have Cory catfish, Cardinal Tetras, Oto catfish and either 3 Apistos or 3 rams (2 females and one male). Since I have no experience what so ever with cichlids, so I introduce them first or last into the tank? My goal is to have 2 corners with rock caves and a drift wood in the middle.

Generally I try to introduce them last if possible, this way they won't feel threatened when adding new fish into the territory they've already claimed. But since they're all fairly low on the aggression scale as long as the tank is broken up properly should be good either way. Sounds like a cool tank any pictures yet or still in the planning stage?

Well you should look into doing a fishLESS cycle because none of those fish are hardy enough to withstand the cycling process. After the cycle, in two week increments I would add them in this order...tetras, cories, rams, apistos, otos.

How big is this tank?