Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2012, 11:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 172
German Blue Rams

I am putting 2 German Blue Rams in a 40 gallon tall aquarium. My ph is 7.2 and my hardness is 150. Will they do okay?

Everything that should be zero is!
__________________

__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,877
A few quick questions:
1.) what are the EXACT parameters?
2.) how long has the tank been up and running?
3.) what else is in the tank (stock list)?
4.) what do you plan on putting in the tank?
5.) is there any way you can post some full tank shots?
__________________

__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakgecko91
A few quick questions:
1.) what are the EXACT parameters?
2.) how long has the tank been up and running?
3.) what else is in the tank (stock list)?
4.) what do you plan on putting in the tank?
5.) is there any way you can post some full tank shots?

1) ammonia=0
Nitrate=0
Nitrite=0
Chlorine=0
Alk=40
Ph=7.2
Hardness=150
Temp=79-81

2) About 1 1/2 months

3) 3 dwarf loaches, a rubber-lip pleco

4) Now, cherry barbs

5)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-623882177.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	109371   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4218481956.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	158.4 KB
ID:	109372  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1835140246.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	160.2 KB
ID:	109373  
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
garfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fanborough,Hampshire,England
Posts: 2,558
You say your Nitrates are 0?
__________________
garfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,877
My suggestion is to let the tank age before adding a delicate species like GBRs. Maybe look into Bolivians? Much hardier and generally more forgiving when it comes to water comdition
__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakgecko91
My suggestion is to let the tank age before adding a delicate species like GBRs. Maybe look into Bolivians? Much hardier and generally more forgiving when it comes to water comdition
Ok, that's really what I was thinking
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Pckerfreak44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 674
I agree. It's still a fairly new tank
__________________
Pckerfreak44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:00 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Borderlesscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,083
Something is wrong in the tank if Nitrates are 0.
__________________
Every time someone asks me can i put Clown Loaches into a 10 gallon tank, a little piece of me dies.
Borderlesscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:00 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Borderlesscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakgecko91
My suggestion is to let the tank age before adding a delicate species like GBRs. Maybe look into Bolivians? Much hardier and generally more forgiving when it comes to water comdition
Totally agree
__________________
Every time someone asks me can i put Clown Loaches into a 10 gallon tank, a little piece of me dies.
Borderlesscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borderlesscott
Something is wrong in the tank if Nitrates are 0.
Why? Had carbon in the tank before I had many plants.
__________________

__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blue, blue ram, blue rams, german blue ram, german blue rams, rams

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Aquarium News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with Aquarium News in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]