greenhorn just arrived!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cichlid.greenhorn

Aquarium Advice Activist
Just started a 55 gal fw tank last month. Lots of UPS and downs, pulled off a successful 100% water change with no fatalities. I have a low ph problem, I don't wanna raise the ph to fast. Currently is at 6.0, using api ph up every day to raise it slowly. But every time I pwc it drops, suggestions. Crushed coral? I'm a newbie I had guppies in the past, but this is all new to me.

Crushed coral works but slowly. I would suggest not using chemicals at all. Fish can adjust to a constant Ph better than it going up and down every water change.

So, add a little crushed coral once a week? Plus dumb question, do I add directly to tank? With filter media?

Well with that low of a Ph id just mix it with your substrate maybe half and half. Just however much you can afford. Or if you don't like how it looks or something in your filter works just as good. Also if you can limestone holey rock you can add that to your tank. It works good too.

Airstone columns for the undergravel filter. I know that most say not to use it, but I have a polished river rock substrate so they don't mess with the rocks.
Uh I think I have:
2 electric yellow
2 albino kenyi
2 blue kenyi
And a lonley pleco

Airstone columns for the undergravel filter. I know that most say not to use it, but I have a polished river rock substrate so they don't mess with the rocks.
Uh I think I have:
2 electric yellow
2 albino kenyi
2 blue kenyi
And a lonley pleco

Good deal! how long have you been running? Whats your filtration?

Been running about 3 mo, I cycled with rosie barbs then evacuated and switched to cichlids. Well the 1 ft by 2.5 ft under gravel filter. And a marineland bio-wheel 200. I know I need better filtration and will get it shortly.