Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2012, 02:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 152
Help cleanining sand

Be got a big 90 gallon south American cichlid tanks that is constantly dirty is there anything that I can get that will eat it or help with it?
__________________

__________________
Mike jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Malawi Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 1,237
Can you explain a little more. Are you saying the sand is very dirty? Any waste should only be sitting on top of the sand. If that's your issue a powerhead is your best option to increase water flow and eliminate any dead spots. What kind of filter do you have on there, perhaps you need to I crease that. How often are you doing water changes and how much. If you mean the actual sand is getting dirty try some Malaysian trumpet snails.
__________________

__________________
Malawi Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 152
It's just like I have a bunch of waste sitting on top of the sand I mean I'll clean it and in 2-3 it's got another huge amount of waste on the floor bottom and I have a fluval fx5
__________________
Mike jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:16 AM   #4
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411įN/88.3161įW
Posts: 6,932
There is no fish that will actually consume other fish's waste. Get a power head to blow the detrius to the filter intake or another location for removal.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 12:17 PM   #5
5x5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
5x5's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 942
I agree with the others. You need better water movement and a Powerhead should work fine. I'm a huge fan of the koralia Powerhead product and I don't have this problem with it running.
__________________
Join the official SA/CA Club: A place to share pictures and talk about your monsters.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...d+society.html
5x5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 12:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,017
Ive had really good luck with the aqueon ph's are they are a bit cheaper than other ph's.
__________________
gman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 152
My tanks six foot long so I think the current from the power head would die off before it took it to one side
__________________
Mike jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:50 PM   #8
5x5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
5x5's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike hawk View Post
My tanks six foot long so I think the current from the power head would die off before it took it to one side
That's not true. You just need an appropriately sized Powerhead. It's not one size fits all.

I have a 6 foot tank with double your water volume and it works very well.
__________________
Join the official SA/CA Club: A place to share pictures and talk about your monsters.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...d+society.html
5x5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 152
After your power heads current takes it does your filter take it in or do you just go in and scoop it out every once and awhile
__________________
Mike jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:16 PM   #10
5x5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
5x5's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike hawk
After your power heads current takes it does your filter take it in or do you just go in and scoop it out every once and awhile
Some of it goes in the filter and some of it just gets blown around and it breaks up. I never scoop it out and you can rarely see any waste on my sand. It's a good solution.
__________________

__________________
Join the official SA/CA Club: A place to share pictures and talk about your monsters.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...d+society.html
5x5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.