Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-20-2011, 11:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Help guys!!

Ok I'm new to this hobby and love it! I try my hardest to maintain my tank an keep up on all that is needed to make me and my fish happy. I tested the water on Monday and it was fine no issues. I tested it this morning and Nitrite levels were off the chart!! I re tested just to be sure and yup! Off the chart! It's a dark dark purple.

Can I treat it with Prime or API stress zyme +?

I did a water change last night and again today while rearranging my tank. I don't wanna do too many I'm worried about stressing my fish and me!!

Advice please? I'm so use to dealing with tough situation being a fire chief but this fish hobby has be beat! lol!! If the guys down the firehouse only knew that my newly found fish hobby is stressing me out more then a 2nd alarm fire!!

Have a good day and thanks in advance.

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Yes absolutely use some prime and do a few big water changes back to back.

^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Waterchanges are good, but you say you did a waterchange last night, before doing this test?