Help!!! I'm new to fish tanks and cichlids.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sabrina

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, everyone! I'm in need of a little bit of help. My wonderful neighbor had to move and couldn't take her fish tank with her and has giving it to me and my family. The only fish that we've ever owned were bettas. We know nothing when it comes to fish tanks.

The tank is a 50gal. It has two water filters. One on top of the tank and one under the tank. There are two parrot fish, one large one and one small one. Also there are two other fish in the tank, I think they are oscar fish. One is fairly large and the other is about 2" small.

My kids want to add more fish to the tank. Is that even possible? I've read that these are aggressive fish and I am afraid if I add more that they will kill the new fish. I have ordered more rocks for the tank and fish. The tank just seems bare and boring. We would like to liven things up a bit.

Please help this first timer.
Thanks
Sabrina

You have a canister filter on bottom and what looks like an HOB(Hang on back) filter on top.

Agree with Mike it's definitely dempseys and then the parrot fish. You are pretty stocked as it. Jack Dempsey get 10 inches long and (correct me) blood parrots get pretty close to that as well.

This tank is obviously established but did you get a test kit with it? These test pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. It's important you have a kit to test your tank with.

Caleb

You have a canister filter on bottom and what looks like an HOB(Hang on back) filter on top.

Agree with Mike it's definitely dempseys and then the parrot fish. You are pretty stocked as it. Jack Dempsey get 10 inches long and (correct me) blood parrots get pretty close to that as well.