How am I doing so far??? (some flashing/GH problems)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jtd1216

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to cichlids and have my first tank is a 29g with 4 n. brichardi. They seem to be doing quite well. One is flashing a bit (once in a great while), so i decided to test the water. Im having trouble keeping my GH up. Each water change I add 1/4tsp of baking soda and 1 table spoon of Epsom salt. I also keep a bag of crushed coral in the filter. Here is what i have:
pH - 8.8
kH - 12
gH - 1!! (stays up for first few days from epsom, but decreases i guess)
nitrates - 10
ammonia ~ .1-.25

any input would be great =) thanks in advance!

Keep a real close eye. Flashing could possibly be a sign of ick, or some other parasite. Or, if it's just once in a great while, could be just itching.

If it is ick, i was told raising the temp a bit and adding some aquarium salt will help. is this something you'd suggest? I also heard that it could be territorial behavior?

are my parameters ok? any suggestions about the GH or is it fine like it is... i was told the brichardi are pretty hardy and will breed in almost anything.

sounds great but only one problem.
WE NEED PICTURES!!

One is flashing a bit (once in a great while)
ammonia ~ .1-.25
Minor chemical burn I would say.
limestone is a great buffer for ur african water - better then CC in my opinion.
I would also do away with the epsom and baking soda to keep levels from fluctuating.

hth

~Matt

DeFeKt said:
sounds great but only one problem.
WE NEED PICTURES!!

One is flashing a bit (once in a great while)
ammonia ~ .1-.25
Minor chemical burn I would say.
limestone is a great buffer for ur african water - better then CC in my opinion.
I would also do away with the epsom and baking soda to keep levels from fluctuating.

hth

~Matt