Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CraigMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 600
How long to "seed" new filter in established tank?

M setting up a QT tank. My plan is to run the filter for this tank in my main tank to get it seeded. Then, I can simply fill the qt tank, move the filter over and be good to go. My question is how long will it take this extra filter to run in my established main tank until its seeded and good to go?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
CraigMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mogurako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US, Washington state
Posts: 4,449
Just take established media from the main tank's filter and add it to your QT tank filter.
__________________

__________________
Mogurako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CraigMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 600
I was going to do that but the media in my main is the cotton/charcoal combo and the plastic that it's attached to is too big to fit I the 2nd filter. So I thought if I set up the 2nd filter wit it's own media for a bit that would work too?
__________________
CraigMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mogurako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US, Washington state
Posts: 4,449
I don't use that kind of filter anymore so I didn't even think of that. You'd probably need to run it for about a week.
__________________
Mogurako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CraigMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 600
Cool, that's what I was going to do, set it up today and let it run in my main tank until next weekend. Then next weekend I was going to setup the qt tan and move the filter over. That should work then?

Thanks!
__________________
CraigMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
established tank, filter, long, new filter, seed, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kio707 tank 2.0 Kio707 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 585 06-10-2012 11:04 PM
will this DIY sponge filter work? Ponch DIY Projects 10 04-07-2012 09:27 AM
Worm in rock AndiH011 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 11 04-05-2012 06:50 AM
New Stock List for 72bowfront. ShooterRick Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-01-2012 08:01 PM
Sand and "Dead Pockets" Tcal01 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 04-01-2012 03:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.