How Often to Feed Cichlids?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twestacott

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am new to cichlids and am just wondering how often they should be fed and how much? I have 6 yellow labs and alternate between omega one flake and nls cichlid pellets. I have heard everything from feeding once a day for about 2 minutes up to 4 times a day for 30 seconds

I feed my mbuna's twice a day. Once per week I skip feedings all together. I know a lot of people feed once a day and skip once a week.

Check the protein % in the food. To prevent bloat it's recommended to feed food with protein less then 40%.

Ohhh ur gonna get tons of advice on this! Before I tell you my feeding schedule I'm gonna say this...you need to watch the needs of your fish and decide what's best for them and you.
That said, I feed once a day what they can eat in 30-45 seconds. Depending on the tank, some get a little more (frontosas) and some get a little less (jewels). I'll try to post a great link I found about feeding. Hope it helps.

Thanks. I am very paranoid about bloat. I have noticed after the fish are fed you can see a string having from them that is either white or sometimes red. Is this their normal poop or a sign that I might be doing something wrong?

I am interested in what peoples opinions are on this as well. I keep cichlids and feed once a day and give them about 30 seconds. once a week i feed a higher protein like bloodworms. ...

followingg...

twestacott said:
Thanks. I am very paranoid about bloat. I have noticed after the fish are fed you can see a string having from them that is either white or sometimes red. Is this their normal poop or a sign that I might be doing something wrong?