how to raise ph in cichlid aqarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flyer215

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My tank is all set up, with water running and heater going. I'm confused on how to raise the pH. I bought Proper pH 8.2 but it didn't do anything. In the directions it said to never add proper pH 8.2 without the cichlid salt?

I'm also worried if the pH is too high it could kill my new fish. Should I find out what the pH of the water is at the pet sore is before I raise it?

and what do I need to raise it? HOW do I raise? UGH. I'm new at this whole cichlid thing they need so much but I really want to try this!

Do I need salts for my tank? I reasearched and some say no and some say yes.

and I have Quick Start and Quick Start Stress coat to condition my water. Would it be bad if I added in another type of water conditioner? like ammonia remover? is it bad to mix it all up like that?

sorry for all the questions you must all thing im horrible but I need to know! HELP! thanks

read these articles they have very good information in them. When you first set up a new tank you need to "cycle" the tank. Also go get a good test kit, the strips are junk. I use the API freshwater master test kit, alot of people on here also use it. While your tank is cycling you should be doing daily water changes to lower the ammonia level in the water. Ammonia and nitrite are toxic to fish

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/guide-to-starting-a-freshwater-aquarium-186089.html

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice

when you add a fish to your tank you need to acclimate them to their new water parameters, this goes for all fish not just cichlids. You can do this 2 different ways