Identification

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

torres

Aquarium Advice Freak
i know its an african, but thats it lol
ucgr.jpg

i1d7.jpg

and why the hex hes keep trying to jump/sticking his head out of the water
just got the fish now and this stress signal is new for me:(

thanks!!!

Did you acclimate the fish to your water when you put it in, if so how long did you do it for?

Are your parameters good?

What is the pH of the tank you have and of the tank it came from, sometimes it is much different and that is a big shock for the fish. I am not a cichlid expert but often they are in very high pH.

Did you acclimate the fish to your water when you put it in, if so how long did you do it for?

Are your parameters good?

What is the pH of the tank you have and of the tank it came from, sometimes it is much different and that is a big shock for the fish. I am not a cichlid expert but often they are in very high pH.
i did acclimation for around 15 min, both waters seemed to be in the same temperature.
All my parameters are fine, in fact my ph has always been high, around or above 8 and the fish was like that coming over to my house too, the old owner said it was jumping out of the bucket.
thanks

And appears to be some sort of Malawian hap

if it is an parasite what can i do?
really hate to see a fish that big doing that, I also had in my mind its a malawi, an eletric blue maybe, but hes really big, never thought they would get to this size

I know there's certain medications, but I'm not positive on which ones, I'll let some more experienced members chime in

It does look like something from the genus Nimbochromis, but it's hard to tell by the pics

np thanks anyway
ill get better pics soon, in fact ive seen fish of this kind that big, just couldn't remember

Right, better pics a video to show how the fish is acting and water parameters.