Koi Angelfish breeders, I have a question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy Sager

Aquarium Advice Addict
As some of you I'm sure know, I have gone back into Angelfish breeding on a bigger than hobbyist scale. Some of the newer varieties of Angelfish weren't even invented when i left the field in the 1980s. I am looking to discuss some thoughts about Koi Angels with others here who are producing them. So if you are breeding the Koi Angel and producing viable fry, please chime in or PM me. Thanks. (y)

I just got a pair that has not yet produced viable fry for me specifically. They have for someone else. But I'm interested in hearing more?

Ask away.... Im not a pro like you andy, but maybe i can help.

Sent from my LGLS991 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Thanks for the replies guys but my questions are more directed toward this color form specifically so if you haven't raised a lot of this color, you can't really help me with this issue ( I hate to say :( ). I'm seeing different situations with only this color form and since I only have one pair producing these fish, I need to verify some things. Only someone raising Koi fry specifically can answer this for me. :flowers: (y)

Ive researched and raised them. Both red koi and panda koi angels. I dont anymore, but helped a member breed them for a while.

Color form is an interesting topic with them. They're like snowflakes. And as you know angels regardless of how many genes are in them will only hold onto 2 genes. Produce many genetic different fry, but only show 2 genes. Alot of what people are calling koi angels are in fact not. They are red head (red cap) marbles... I know a ton more abt them if i can at all help.