Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-24-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tacoeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 176
Just scored on a Koralia Evo 750 from a buddy that is getting out of the fish hobby. He ran it in his reef set up, is it going to be ok to run it in my African Cichlid tank to move the water around a bit more? It's a 60g 48" long running a Fluval 406 canister. Also been reading that running this 750, I could get rid of my air pump? The output of the Fluval is about 1" below the water line, but still pointing up to get a good movement on the surface water. I plan on running the Koralia about a couple inches above the sand pointing at the Fluval intake tube. (opposite corners) is this recommended? I know it's probably better to get a splash out of the Fluval output, but really need to keep the noise to a minimum. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Tacoeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
It will be fine just clean it up as best as you can.
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tacoeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 176
Thanks, already cleaned it up, looks new now. What about getting rid of the air pump? Will the fish miss that bubble maker, or is my set up not enough oxygen for them?
__________________
Tacoeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoeater
Thanks, already cleaned it up, looks new now. What about getting rid of the air pump? Will the fish miss that bubble maker, or is my set up not enough oxygen for them?
It will ne done without bubbles, theres a bunch of us that don't use them. Depending on what substrate you have you may need to move it up more or it will just blow it around being down low. A lot of people have them near the top then aiming them to blow down.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoeater
Thanks, already cleaned it up, looks new now. What about getting rid of the air pump? Will the fish miss that bubble maker, or is my set up not enough oxygen for them?
You'll be fine without the bubbles. A common misconception people have is that those bubble wands actually put oxygen into the water. They are more for agitating the surface of the water to help the gas exchange at the surface. The bubbles don't stay in contact with the water surface nearly long enough to be dissolved into the water.
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
koralia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.