Lake Malawi 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slurpbro

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. I'm a beginner, but I still want to put a lake Malawi habitat in my 55g. Is this advisable?

Also this is my scheme of things.

2 synodontis njassae (Malawi catfish)
2 electric blue haplochromis
4 zebra mbuna (1male 3female)
4 auratus (1male 3female)

I was told to keep the mbuna and auratis in harems. The catfish eat the fry, too, so this is not a problem.

For my old unused 10 gallon:

10 dwarf pencilfish
4 panda cory.

Does This work?

Don't put the Haps in that habitat. It's highly unadvisable. Just FYI Auratus are one of the most aggressive mbuna species you will ever encounter. I personally won't keep them except in a species only tanks. You may have problems with them bullying the zebras.

Why not?

I'm at least well informed. I know what I'm getting into. The Haplochromis are predators, so they make a lot of waste and are messy. This can be countered with an extremely efficient filtration system. I was thinking of getting a substrate filter and waterfall filter at the same time. They make combos like that, right? I'm really worried about the expensive predator food. Can I breed my own food for the haps?

Auratus can go. Any Ideas for more Lake Malawi chililids I can put in their place? The alternative would be incresing the zebra harem. Are there any Malawi Julies? Maybe another synodontis... Help! That reminds me, the synos will at least clean up the mess from the haplochromis feeding. I think one more syno and two more female zebras would be best. What do you think?

I'm sorry, I really wanted a predatory fish, especially one as cool as the haplochromis(cool color). I think I'm up to the challenge. I'm actually more worried about overfeeding... I have trouble with that. Any pointers?