Let's talk africans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hsherman1986

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So, I am getting another 55 today, and decided that I am going to go african. My husband really wants these red/orange peacocks, and christmas fulus. How many of each would be good in this tank, and are these two fish compatible? Also, this may sound dumb, but can I keep yellow labs and/or white scolofis with the other two? If so, how many of each would be a good idea for this tank? Also, could I keep and loaches or catfish with these guys? TIA!!

*Please forgive any ingnorance in the above post, I am new to africans, and don't know very much about them at all. Thats why I am doing research now :D *

hsherman1986 - also how is your water (ph and hardness)? What type of filtration do you plan on using for your tank? Cichlids are messy eaters, even the smaller African's.

Peacocks are one of the least aggressive African species, so care must be taken when choosing tankmates. I've kept acei and yellow labs with them without trouble, but can't say if the the other species you've mentioned would be okay.

Christmas fulu's I have 3 of them and they are VERY aggressive. I also have the Aulonocara Rubenscens which are not aggressive at all. I would not keep these two species in a 55 gal together. I have 125 gal and the Fulu's can still terrorize many of the other fish at times. The difference is there is a lot more room to hide in a 125 than a 55. Keeping these two fish together will result in trouble for the peacocks.