Melanochromis auratus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DragonFish71

Great white snark
Calling all african cichlid experts. While I have a clue about africans, My experience is mainly as a SA/NW gal. This is my first time keeping them. I did my homework, asked tons of questions, now I can't find a really good answer to one.

I bought 4 Melanochromis auratus juvies. One is changing to the darker color, so I gather from research, it's a boy! (passes out cigars with blue wrappers)

Here's my question:

When will he and the 3 girls (barring that none of the others change) reach maturity and start spawning?

I'm finding so many different answers that my head hurts.

basic info:
tank size: 115g
substrate: PFS
decor (more being added as I can): lace rock, java ferns, java moss, anubias
pH: 7.4 (I don't believe is messing with my pH as long as it's stable)
tank mates: 3 kenyi, 3 red zebras, 1 albino zebra, 2 cobalt zebras, 2 yellow labs, 2 featherfin cats

I'm finding everything from 6 months to 2 years. Which makes no sense to me. Average cichlid spawning maturity age is at about 6 months or older. I've had them since October, who knows how old they were at the store, maybe 2 months. Though for 6ish months I'd expect them to be bigger.

I'm just trying to be ahead of the game to watch out for trouble. Everyone's pretty much passive, but I know once the spawning starts my tank will turn into a war zone.

DragonFish71 said:
I'm finding everything from 6 months to 2 years. Which makes no sense to me. Average cichlid spawning maturity age is at about 6 months or older. I've had them since October, who knows how old they were at the store, maybe 2 months. Though for 6ish months I'd expect them to be bigger.