Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-13-2010, 04:33 PM   #1
Gus
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
My 55 gallon tank

A couple of pictures showing my newly established 55 gallon tank. What do you guys think? I know I need to add a background.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00409-20101213-0559.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	198.2 KB
ID:	26387   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00408-20101213-0558.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	26388  

__________________

__________________
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 05:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
A dark background would really set it off. A dark blue or black would look good. The cobbles look great, the trick is to try and make it so the piles of rocks are not exactly uniform. I know they are hard to stack and it takes time to get it natural looking. I like the look of cobbles in a tank.

http://www.google.com.au/images?q=ma...w=1345&bih=593
May be this will gove you some ideas.
__________________

__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:39 PM   #3
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Very nice start. Good work!
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
I really like the rocks. I'm sure they'll be a pain to clean under, but they look fantastic
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:12 PM   #5
Gus
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks
__________________
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
If you can get a flow maker, you can create a current around and through the rocks with careful placement and the current will help keep detritus from ccumulating too much.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:50 PM   #7
Gus
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Flow maker? Never heard of it, but I'll look it up, thanks!
__________________
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 03:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Wave Maker

Something like this. But you will need to find the american 110v version
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 04:45 AM   #9
Gus
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Cool, thanks. I have a powerhead, can I use that instead?
__________________
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:52 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Yep. Just place it where it won't blow the gravel around but the flow is directed amongst the rockwork. The fish love the flow.
__________________

__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debating a new (first) 20-gallon tank after too much 10-gallon angst alivenwell82 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 07-01-2009 12:46 AM
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 12:06 PM
Questions about 10 gallon refugium thingy for 55 gallon tank bigtard Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-27-2005 12:47 AM
Upgrading Tank... 10 Gallon to 12 Gallon Nano Cube Deluxe noone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-13-2005 02:21 PM
30 gallon tank in a 90 gallon stand skennelly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-28-2005 03:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.