my first cichlid tank need some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anikonslr

Aquarium Advice Regular
this is my first malawi cichlid tank and am looking for some advise on a couple of things. i have a 120 gal tank its 60"L x 25"H x 18"D. going to use a ca1000 canister filter, a ca-900 power head, and a m300 heater. going to go and pick up a bunch of lace rock tommorow. trying to decide what to use for the substrate though, sand or gravel. not sure which is better for the fish. i have never used sand in a tank before so not sure how complicated it makes the cleaning process. i also need some help deciding what kind of light and how much to put in it. i am making a wood canopy for the tank so i have plenty of options for the lighting just not sure how much or what kind. i dont think that i have forgot anything else, if i have please let me know.

Malawi cichlid are cool cichlids. I love them. And yup u hav a great tank size to. A 120g means a bigger one. Sand and gravel both are good for ur substrate.but max of african species love sand as their substrate. Beside this sand give a very natural look,which is cool too.but remember u have stirr the sand occationally so that no gas can form under it.u can vaccum all the waste easily coz in sand waste never get a chance to go under it.it just stays on the sand surface.another advantage in sand u can have plant in ur tank. U hav a wooden canopy that is another great thing. in case of lighting I'll say T5 lighting and fittings are grt.now a days underwater lights are also available,but I never use them,so just can't say bout it U can add a nice background too which makes ur tank look much beautiful.hope this help...

anikonslr said:
i will do that for sure, was going to use some pool sand. thought that it would be a little cleaner to use.