My Kribs have babies - now with pics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jeevster

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this and only started my tank 1 1/2 months ago, ... well my wife got a pair (both female) of kribs (gift from friend) about 2 1/2 weeks ago. one was slightly smaller than the other. about a 1 1/2 weeks ago I got a male (a bit larger than the females), and the larger female paired up with the male .... about 5 days ago they started hanging out near this cave and chasing all the other fish away. just yesterday night I noticed dozens of little kribs coming out of the cave .. and the parents were on high alert .

my questions are
1. should I take the other female out (she is kind of being picked on by the male - always hiding) ?

2. what should I feed the babies ?

3. should I be doing anything special ?

my tank - 155 L (50 G)

It is a good idea to remove the male and u will have a higher fry survival rate.

Try Crushed Up Flakes or Buy a First bites fishffod.

Just watch and wait.

Congrats on the krib fry!

Kepe in mind this is

JMHO

Do not remove the male, but remove the other female. She will end up getting hurt if you don't.

The male and female are very protective over their offspring and will guard them together.

If you have any live plants in your tank, the fry will eat a lot of the organisms off the plant and you can feed them crushed flakes. Just feed them with a turkey baster to make sure they get the food. Be sure to crush all the foods into a fine powder for them.

Congrats on the fry. I am so envious!!

Thanks fishlover & fawn .. me & my wife are very excited.. cant wait to get back home from work

I'm trying to catch female but she is very quick and there are lots of nooks and craneys in my tank, plus I dont have a proper net (DIY net - not very good)

will go get a new net today (late night shopping today)