New 55-60 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ScottM23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys! I'm starting a new Cichlid tank hopefully in the near future. I haven't done anything with this yet only coming up with ideas and putting my thoughts together. I haven't kept Cichlids in many years but I really enjoyed them when I did. I'm an amateur at best when it comes to Cichlid keeping but I've kept many tanks since I was about 5 years old. I've been thinking about what I want to stock in this tank and I've come up with a few ideas. I want a large fish which will essentially be the centerpiece of the tank. I've been researching and considering Blue Acaras, Electric Blue Jack Dempseys, and Green Terror cichlids. I just can't decide on which ones to keep. I've heard some bad things about keeping the Dempseys, I've heard inbreeding has made them less hardy and lessened their coloration. How do I get one with good genes if I'm looking for one? I also realize they're known for uprooting plants same as the Blue Acaras. How bad is it? I could plant some large Anubis so hopefully they'll make it. Is there anything else I should know before deciding? As for Blue Acaras they don't grow quite big enough for what I'm looking for. However, their temperament is nice. I like the idea of not having to worry as much about stocking. Finally, the Green Terror Cichlids. I realize they're very aggressive much like the Dempseys, however I'm willing to deal with that. I've read online that they are harder to keep then the Dempseys or Acaras. Is that true? As essentially a beginner in Cichlid keeping which one would you guys recommend? I'm open to all information and any other recommendations for stocking. Thanks in advance!