Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2011, 12:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
New ~50 gal Aquarium finally

been meaning to upgrade from my 40Gal long to a 55 Gal. That I was getting from my uncle.. (55 was also the 48in long tank)

turns out I got a tank form a guy sat work. it is a 58 Gal tall, need to measure the length, but I got the tank, filter, light, some Driftwood, everything except substrate, heater, stand and a hood.

I will be setting this one up and moving all of my Cichlids to it.

Couple questions:

once I get it filled with water and cycling, would it help to take some of the water from my current tank to get it started?

Also I am thinking of doing Black Sand at the bottom.. what is the best place to get that at?

This new tank will go in my finished basement to keep it away from the sun light that my current tank gets.
__________________

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
There is very little amounts of beneficial bacteria in the water so the best bet would be either run that filter on your current tank to seed it for a couple of weeks or use media from your current filter in the new one, this will almost instantly cycle your new set up.

I use black Tahitian Moon sand in all but one of my tanks and the best place is Drfostersmith since they ship for free.
__________________

__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maddybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Outside Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 1,592
I don't think water would help. But the filter media would and some substrate. Or the decor. That's where the bacteria live.
__________________
I like Fish.... you know the kind that live in water...
maddybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Thanks for the info.. I have not looked at all of it yet, but if the medias are both the same, then I can run a old media from the old tank in the new, but if they are different how do I approach that?

my 40 Gal has a Penguin BioWheel 350, I was told the one I got is a Biowheel as well, but not sure which model (I did not look to close)

going to take a while, not sure if I will buy a stand or build one.. need another heater too. I figure I will set-up the new, move the fish then break down the old tank
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:37 PM   #5
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
I would just run the new one on the old tank until your ready for set up, it's a win/win the old set can't have to much filtration and when the new setup is ready you'll have no cycle issues to worry about.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT View Post

I use black Tahitian Moon sand in all but one of my tanks and the best place is Drfostersmith since they ship for free.
this stuff?
Aquarium Substrate for Marine Aquariums: CaribSea Instant Aquarium Substrate Tahitian Moon



I think the Tank is about 18x30 on the bottom ( need to measure) how much sand will I need?
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maddybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Outside Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 1,592
It usually says on the bag.. I think it's 2 pounds per gallon?
__________________
I like Fish.... you know the kind that live in water...
maddybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:41 PM   #8
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
this stuff?
Aquarium Substrate for Marine Aquariums: CaribSea Instant Aquarium Substrate Tahitian Moon



I think the Tank is about 18x30 on the bottom ( need to measure) how much sand will I need?
Yes that's stuff. I perfer deep sand beds of 3-4" so I would shoot for 80lbs. Here's a substrate calculator.

http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT View Post
Yes that's stuff. I perfer deep sand beds of 3-4" so I would shoot for 80lbs.

Substrate Calculator

Good thing this tank will be in the basement.. LOL
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 01:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr.Albiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 611
Isn't that substrate for Marine tanks? Or does is not make a difference? Good luck with your tank!
__________________

__________________
Mr.Albiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clear plastic pipeline aquarium Yavindish DIY Projects 6 07-28-2011 11:00 AM
How long can aquarium safely go without power? sdrone Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 07-14-2011 11:38 AM
thinking of starting a sw aquarium .. have a few questions kathleen55 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-13-2011 01:22 AM
Fluval Edge Aquarium Hubert90 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 24 07-06-2011 01:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.