New chichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lucas

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am setting up a 75 gallon chichlid tank soon, and i am wondering about the basics of setting up one...so my questions are:

Are there any specific chichlids i can have?

What other fish could i have with chichlids?

Are they ok with live plants?

They like rocky landscapes, right?

Dont they need a ph of 7.8-8 or sumthing?

Any other things i should know?

Please respond! Thanks...

I have no experience with Africans and only a bit with South Americans, but I prefer the SA/CA varieties, myself. Larger (typically), and more personable. Not as fantastically colored but I still prefer them.

I have malawi cichlids, a mix of mbuna, peacocks and a few haps. With careful research you can have success with whatever cichlids you want. My only don't break rule, don't mix cichlids from different lakes. Have you any preference for the aggression level, colors etc you want?

I would prefer them to have a low agression level because i would want to put in a pleco. Would loaches be ok to? I have a bowtia loach and hes pretty agressive already, so would he be pretty good in there?

Color-wise, i would like them to be as colorful as possible.

I dont really know that much on chichlids, but i know basic stuff.

Anyone have photos on their chichlid tanks? If so, what kind of stuff do you have in there and what kind of equipment do you have?

Lucas

I keep a couple clown loaches with my mbuna cichlids, as far as africans go, they do like high pH...they are not typically successful with live plants but it can be done, ask travis about that one. hehe. other things to know...they need a lower protein diet, otherwise they'll get bloat. As far as some tank shots, here's some of mine.

http://www.photolocker.net/gallery.php?u=jrp1588&g=75-Gallon-Mbuna