Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-19-2016, 03:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

New tank

Im starting a new tank that was given to me. I want to do a malawi tank and want to know the most colorful fish that make my wife happy i have it.

I have a 220 with a sump and heaters and all that but i have a few questions.

Does the bacteria that was used in the tank before stay alive for my tank? Can i use it or do i need to wash everything and start from scratch? How long will it live without fish or water?

Im new to all this but i have done alot of research to how the tank needs to be set up and all that just not quite enough research on the fish yet.

Also what foam is safe to use to make all the cave and stuff for my backdrop?

Also how do i add pictures to keep everyone up to date on my progress?

Old 04-19-2016, 06:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Most of the helpful bacteria lives in the filter and the media. Without water and an ammonia source the bacteria are likely to last less than 48 hours. Fortunately a fish less cycle isn't all that long and can be done while you acquire the rest of your materials and figure out your stocking list. As far as the pictures and foam, I'm unsure for both because I use the app mostly and only used poster board as my background before

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 04-19-2016, 07:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Figured it out with the app

Sent from my SM-N920V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1461109944201.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	286282  
Old 04-20-2016, 10:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak