New tank rocks and egg crate question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erikmoseley

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey everybody I just scored 200 pounds of Riverock for $55 My plan is within the next week or so is to tear down my 70 gallon and swap/ set up my 90 gallon with these rocks and some from the collection I already have. I have a bunch of rock in mice 70 gallon right now but I did not use eggcrate on the bottom I've never used before so here's my question. I I went to Home Depot today and they had the only thing resembling what I thought I needed and was very thin plastic eggcrate will this work or should I be looking for something like an inch thick? If so any suggestions where I find that I've attached some pictures of the Home Depot stuff and you can see how thin it is probably a quarter inch. And if the tank dimensions are 48 x 18 do I measure an inch shorter in each direction so it fits easy?

Attachments

• image-2827815053.jpg
    image-2827815053.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 93
  • image-3295334524.jpg
    image-3295334524.jpg
    178.9 KB · Views: 95
That's the right stuff, the edges are extra thin but it really isn't an issue. Just make sure its flush on the glass and you shouldn't have any problems.

That's the right stuff, the edges are extra thin but it really isn't an issue. Just make sure its flush on the glass and you shouldn't have any problems.

If you don't mind me asking what's the egg crate for..?

I wouldn't be. I have more than that now in 72 gallon and I've seen your setup - looks nice and sturdy

Awesome, I wanna go up the sides and rear corners and leave the middle for swimming space ill be adding more rocks should I add egg crate then..?