New to cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caliban07

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm looking in to my first cichlid tank. I'm a real beginner. So much so that I have only just realised it's spelt cichlid and not chichlid.

I have a juwel rio 180 which I think equates to 47 US gallon. I know the internal filter may not be adequate and I think it only turns of 3 times tank volume so I will be running a fluval 306 in conjunction.

I have chosen a very fine gravel for my substrate. Almost as fine as sand which I will of course wash thoroughly beforehand.

I am now aware that most cichlids will uproot and damage plants so there is not really any point in having live plants. I know that cichlids require lots of cave and rocks etc so scaping will not be a problem.

My problem is stocking. I know my size tank will not suit many cichlids but I would rather have a few large growers than lots of small ones and dither fish will be something I will only think about if there is enough room.

My tap water is safe other than dechlorination and it is about 7.5ph so although I know fish can adapt to ph I would rather chose fish to match my tap than to try and alter my water to suit the fish. The good news is I haven't set my sights on anything yet so I can disregard any cichlids that prefer soft water. I believe I am now looking at small to medium cichlids from Central America and the lakes of Africa.

I don't want many and would prefer to keep only 2 species for now. So that means a combination with the least aggression. Of course only one male in each to reduce aggression and bullying. I would probably only consider having more females than one if I could be sure that they would not fight for the male.