Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-20-2014, 03:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New to Cichlids. Stocking question.

Hi guys. I'm fairly new to aquariums. I've had a few growing up but I didn't really know what I was doing with them. I bought a 55 gallon and want to do a mixed all male Cichlid tank. I've read up in them but I'd like input on my stocking choices before I make them. As I said, I'm kinda new to this so I'm not sure if that's too much or if they will fight too much. Any input will be welcome.

1 Yellow Lab
1 Red Zebra
1 Blue Peacock
1 Albino Peacock
1 Red Peacock
1 Yellow Peacock
1 Tretocephalus
1 Orange Leleupi
1 Gold Sexfasciatus
1 Fuelleborni
1 Featherfin Catfish

Old 03-20-2014, 04:38 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

First off, welcome to A.A. I see a couple of things with your potential stocking list. First item, do you have a source for purchasing only male cichlids? Most of us don't, so it can make it pretty tough to a male only tank - usually you have to buy 5 or 6 juveniles and raise them, removing females as they mature. Second item, you have a mix of mbuna (a herbaceous fish) and peacocks (a carnivorous fish). Meeting the needs of both types in a single mixed tank can be difficult for a beginner (which you've indicated you are), and is not typically something I recommend. If you don't get each the proper foods, then you can end up with issues such as Malawi bloat or Head and Lateral line disease. Personally I would select one or the other type and focus specifically on them.

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:40 PM   #3