nimbochromis venustus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jm8mr

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone, i need some advice, i am a total newbie to fishkeeping so please go easy on me:) the tank has been set up for 5 days. 120 gallon,, 48 x 24 x 24. The nimbochromis is about 1 1/2- 1 3/4. It seems to love chasin my cyrtocara moorii and copadichromis borleyi red fin whom are slightly smaller. Is this a sign that venustus needs to be gotten rid of.... Is this a sign of bad things to come or should i let it play out??????

Well i dont mean to scare you but I had a venustus with 5 other cichlids in a 36 gallon. I was going to raise them from .5 inch to 3 inches then take the back to my LFS. I guess i waited too long because the venustus killed 3 of my other $50 worth before i could get him out. I think they got too cramped but if they have plenty of room and places to hide and diffrent territory to claim you should be fine.

Ok well you have a good sized tank which is a plus.The way you set up your decor will play a big part in the harmony of your fish.You need to break the line of sight with your fish in several places in your tank.The chasing could just be the Venustus exerting his dominance over the others and it may settle down once he has done that.
Be careful with the choice of fish you mix.Venustus grow to 10" and they grow fairly quickly.
You say your tank has been set up for 5 days.Is it properly cycled?How many fish do you currently have and what species are they?

I have 4 fish so far. Nimbochromis, copadichromis borleyi red fin, otopharynx lithobates and a cyrtocara moori. My lfs said i have to wait 6-8 weeks before adding anything else

Well once 6-8 weeks are up i am going to let them come in to do the maintenance the 1st time so i can learn what exactly to do by watching them