Orange Blossom Hybrid

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GloGuy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone! Today I received an assortment of 3 peacocks & haps I ordered online. I have another 3 on order for next week to complete the stock. I opted to have the experts at Live Fish Direct choose the best available and compatible fish. I received a Super Red Empress Fire Hap, Ahli Electric Blue, and an Orange Blossom Peacock. They are all 4"+ and absolutely gorgeous, so I'm happy. After some research on hybrids, I wanted to get everyone's opinion on the subject. He's a good looking dude, but it seems the hybrids are generally frowned upon. What does everyone think?

Attachments

• image-667304079.jpg
    image-667304079.jpg
    140.7 KB · Views: 155
Thanks for the links. Much appreciated. I'm a newbie, so I didn't realize it was a touchy subject. I like him, so I guess that's what matters most anyhow. This is my first cichlid tank, so I'm learning a lot.

I personally think that OB peacocks are the neatest cichlids you can get! I have 1 that's about an inch long and I hope he looks as good as yours does

I just wanted to add that every sunfish around here is a hybrid... So it happens in nature.

My point is, if you think all hybrid fish need to die, then you and Voldemort are on the same page.

The hybridizing you are referring to is most likely the cause of human meddling, rather than "nature". I will almost guarantee that one of the fish that is hybridizing is a species that doesn't naturally occur there (invasive species).

The hybridize nag you are referring to is most likely the cause of human meddling, rather than "nature". I will almost guarantee that one of the fish that is hybridize nag is a species that doesn't naturally occur there (invasive species).