Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-11-2012, 09:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Cool possible 90 gallon tank

Hi! I am new to the fish world. I got me a 20 gallon tank for Christmas (freshwater) and I am in the process of doing a fish in cyle. I just ordered me a 90 gallon tank and was going to go with the same type of thing, but now I am thinking I want to go with an African Cichlid tank.

is this harder than what I am doing? the info things say "expert" as far as experience goes. what do I really need to know to do these fish?

I have on order 90 gallon tank, aquaclear 110, some artificial plants, sunken ship decoration and of course the heater (300w visi-therm)

any advice is welcome! I am going to try the fishless cyle on this tank (since I am still doing PWC daily on my 20 gallon tank)

Old 01-12-2012, 12:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

so I have decided to bite the bullet and jump over to cichlids (African). I read the first article (cichlid recipe) and have a few stocking questions. at the end of the article is a possible list of what you would put in a 74 gallon tank. it is something like 31 fish! can i really put this many fish in one tank?? am I reading this wrong and this is a list of possible compatable fish to go in a 75 gallon tank? I thought the rule was still pretty much the same - 1" fish per gallon of water. wouldn't this be overstocked?

alos, in the article it says to stock with a trio. how do you pick a trio?

Old 01-12-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic