Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-07-2014, 11:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Question if you will.

You have all been so great and the tips are fantastic and appreciated.

An easy or not so easy question. On good care (65 gallon 5 fish) my numbers are
Ph 8, ammonia, .25, nitrite, 0 nitrate .20.

My numbers have been the same for three weeks. Soooo do I need a weekly water change? Or when to change? I always did a weekly but am trying to change bad habits.

Also with 5 can I or should I add a few more, 1 or 2. Now would be the time.

Thanks in advance for any input. Sorry for spelling and typing, a four year old is sleeping on me and I cand move.
__________________

__________________
jconyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
How long has your tank been set up? It doesn't look like it's been completely cycled. You want to keep ammonia as low as possible, if it rises above .25 ppm, do a water change.
__________________

__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
First, is this a new tank ? It doesn't sound as though it's cycled yet. Any value of ammonia is toxic. However, depending on your pH level will dictate the level of toxic ammonia you actually have. Example, a pH of 6.6 with an ammo reading of 1 is not as bad as a pH of 8 with an ammo reading of .1

To go further, it's a 65g with 5 fish. Are they 1-1/2" neons or 14" catfish ? Big difference 😂😂. To do 50% or larger WC's is not a bad habit at all. I do that every two days on my 55g and 100% on Sundays.

About adding fish. If it's not cycled then I would say no. Your filter is establishing bb and to add more would throw things off in a bad way. When it does come time to add fish, I would highly suggest a good QT program. It's easier and cheaper to be proactive than reactive.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Thanks for the reply. By my notes, which the kids and I chart, my ammonia has sat at .25 forthe past 90 days. Nitrites hit 0'at 4/26 and has sat at 0, so I thought that I had cycled. The tank start up was on 3/29. Very careful with the food. It was a fish in cycle attempt. Am I missing something? I will admit, I was the " let's go get a tank and fill the whole thing the same day for instant guy" that was years back. Now I'm trying to do things right and can't figure out where we are wrong. Cool thing is the kids and I have a chart for our tests so it's a cool nightly event. Any thoughts and help is appreciated.
__________________
jconyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Ohhh and the 5 Africans are no larger than 2" tops
__________________
jconyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:17 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
squirrilah fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,349
I would check for ammonia in your water source. And you could add more fish. But I'd get this ammonia problem figured out first.
__________________
squirrilah fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Thx, bad habit. I never did a tap water test. I knew that I should have just forget too.
__________________
jconyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
squirrilah fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,349
Also, what are you testing with?
If your treating with Prime (best treatment IMO) and using test strips, and if there is ammonia in the tap water, you can get a "false positive" prime or any other treatment will bind with the ammonia making it non toxic, but it will still show up on a test.
__________________
squirrilah fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:22 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
API freshwater master test kit.
__________________
jconyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 01:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
squirrilah fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,349
That's what I suspect, if it was biological, or from cycling you'd have fluctuating readings, but a consistent ammonia reading leads me to believe it's the water source itself.
__________________

__________________
squirrilah fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Things you wish you knew about freshwater fish that you know now Kstauch Aquaria Off-Topic 37 06-17-2012 04:41 PM
How often do you clean your Filter? Do you alternate if you have multiple filters? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-22-2011 12:06 AM
If you had to do it all over again what would you do? Ken B Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-17-2003 01:20 PM
What would you do if you saw...? ghettorigged Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 07-09-2003 04:47 AM
Which test kits are you using that work best for you 929rrchico Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-07-2003 07:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.