Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2011, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 625
Rules on Switching Filters

so i just got a new tank, and i was planning on selling my other tank... i wanted to take the filter from my existing tank and use it on my new tank, and take an old filter in throw it in my existing tank...

is there a procedure or rules to changing or switching filters... basically taking an establised filter to an unestablished tank and throwing an old filter in an established tank...
__________________

__________________
OsciTheOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:15 PM   #2
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Transferring the filter from the old tank will basically seed the new tank, but what about the old tank will there still be fish? With a old non-seeded filter the old tank it will need to cycle again or am I missing something?
__________________

__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 625
yea thats basically my only question, i new the established filter would only help the new tank but putting an old filter in an established tank would only hurt the fish that would still be in it...

i have (what i think of is a) huge operation with my tanks...

in my:
55gal: Cascade 700(185gph) BioWheel 200(200gph)
20gal: BioWheel 150(150gph)

i plan on purchasing the BioWheel350(350gph)

thinking on moving all my filters around...getting rid of my 20gal

55gal: Cascade 700(185gph) BioWheel 350(350gph)=535gph
38gal: BioWheel 200(200gph) BioWheel 150(150gph)=350gph

is that enough filtration for the tanks? and is it legit to move 2 filters from 2 different tanks into 1 tank?
__________________
OsciTheOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:36 PM   #4
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
What about running all the filters on the old tank for a couple of weeks to seed everything then make the switch, it will look strange with HOB's hanging all over but it works.

Sounds like sufficient filtration to me, what I shoot for is turning I've the tank volume 7-10x per hour and remember a 55g doesn't hold 55g with substrate, decor, and equipment so it looks good.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 625
well the only problem with running all the filters in one tank is that i have too many fish for one tank... i need to separate the filters to keep all my fish alive...

not sure if im able to turn my filters up or down...

i got the cascade 700 canister filter with my 55gal, thinking the canister filter is a great filter being for an aquarium for up to 75gal, but then its only capable of 185gph... which is more important gph or aquarium size capability?

but back on subject if i take the biowheel 200 out of my 55 and my biowheel 150 out of my 20 gal and put them into the new 38 gal, is that ok? 2 different established tanks filters? cause taking the filter out of the 55 still leaves me with the established cascade700 and that will help seed the new biowheel350...

this is all so confusing but simple at the same time, i just feel my brain goin in circles about it all... hahaha
__________________
OsciTheOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:00 PM   #6
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
The last part made sense to me, so do it that way.

As far as GPH or tank size I always lean towards GPH but even then every manufacture exaggerates to sell more products for instance my Fluval FX5's say 900GPH and it's good for a 400g tank but in reality it flows 600GPH with media and it's good for a 125-150g tank.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 625
yea companies love making their products looks awesome...

i guess my final question is, is it ok to have 2 established filters from 2 different tanks in 1 new tank?
__________________
OsciTheOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:19 PM   #8
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
As long as there's no diseases I wouldn't worry a bit.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 625
No diseases that ive seen, the biggest issue would be ammonia but since im trying to cycle a new tank thatd only help me right? Cause was i get from cycling instructions is you're tryin to build ammonia and then take it back down to start a bio cycle... Correct?
__________________
OsciTheOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:29 PM   #10
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Starts off with ammonia then bactiera turns that into nitrite then info nitrate which we remove with water changes.
__________________

__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.