Sad day... Do you soak NLS pellets?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joecoones

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well, I had a beautiful lwanda male that I was fighting bloat with for about 2 weeks. He did the typical hang out alone, not eating, then the ascites appeared. I am a nurse by profession, so I managed to do 2 paracentesis during that time, getting his ascites to subside, and abx tx continuously, only to have it come back 4-5 days later. Well he finally succumbed to the inevitable.

Question: I feed NLS pellets 1mm exclusively daily and frozen brine shrimp once a week. I haven't ever soaked my pellets but I was reading they can swell in the gut and cause bloat if not soaked. Anyone soak their NLS? Do you think this could be the cause?

Thanks.

never soak mine, i honestly dont see them getting much larger, and if anything would break down. i put mine right at my canister output though so they get submerged for sure. I have heard about if a fish eats one on the surface and accidentally ingests air it could cause problems.

Take NLS and put it in water and let it sit, it doesn't swell it just slowly just breaks down.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I have fine sand bottom so maybe he was sifting through sand and ingested too much and gave himself a sand ileus. I'll start letting my pellets soak a bit.

I have fine sand bottom so maybe he was sifting through sand and ingested too much and gave himself a sand ileus. I'll start letting my pellets soak a bit.

Like said above soaking wont do much with the NLS. All my fish chew them also.

All my fish eat off the sand as well, there's no need to soak it.

It will leach nutrients which defeats the purpose of a quality food, the water-soluble vitamins go first followed by minerals.