Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2014, 02:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
acejock999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Setting up my new tank

As I mentioned before, I got a used 180 gal tank with predrilled holes. I have decided I am gong to seal all holes using bulkhead and ball valves.
I further decided I am not going to have a sump. I am going to buy a fluval fx6. My plan is to run the fluval on my existing 90 gal for about a week. Then swap it over to the new set up and run it about a week. Then if the parameters are right do a massive dump of fish into the new tank (I have 25 assorted haps and peacocks all male mostly 3-4 inches).

I plan on going without a sump at this time and letting the fx6 handle all my filtration needs.

Does this plan sound logical? I would appreciate any replies.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
acejock999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 400
It sounds like it would work but me personally I would keep the swamp filter in my opinion they work better you could add both the canister and the swamp
__________________

__________________
xwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 400
If you saying the flavul will get cycled I. The 90g a week before it may work I would still add bacteria to your 180g to help. in my opinion that sounds like it should work overall
__________________
xwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishBoy185's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: El paso
Posts: 633
I always recommend a HOB to people. You could go with the fx6 and maybe 1 or 2 Aquaclear 110's? Just a consideration.
__________________
125g South American..
FishBoy185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 01:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
acejock999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Maybe I will keep the sump afterall

So does the sump add some more beneficial filtration that I am not aware of? I mean that is highly likely as I am not aware of much. If the sump adds something that the canister doesn't I will probably just go ahead and use the sump plumbing I have in addition to the FX6 I am getting. I have the internal overflow now with the sump and I am not 100% happy with what I see in my tank. It could be that I need to break it down and clean the overflow. When I shut down the pump to do my water changes, it always starts back by kicking a lot of debris back into the tank. I mean the tank water is pretty clear, but there always seems to be something floating. I would like my water to be crystal clear which I am hoping the Fx6 will accomplish. I don't currently use carbon. I have bio balls and floss in a trickle filter.

My FX6 arrives on Monday and I saw a couple videos which lead me to believe the installation should be a breeze.

Including couple pictures of my tank.Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03676.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	220.0 KB
ID:	218903

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03670.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	186.9 KB
ID:	218904
__________________
acejock999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 01:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 400
Back when I had a 150g oscar tank I found I needed both the sump and the canister it's just more flow and bacteria to take car of the huge bio load cichlids add
__________________
xwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 01:11 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
acejock999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Sounds like good advice, especially since I have the plumbing and even the sump tank. May as well make use of it.

Thanks for al he input. I will post pictures of the new tank when I get it together.
__________________
acejock999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 01:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 400
For sure post some pics it sounds like a really cool looking tank
__________________
xwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
acejock999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Got my fx6 today and added to my old setup. Now my 90 had the fx6 and a sump. Geesh the tank was looking clearer in 20 minutes. Fx6 is silent. Surprisingly so.

I'm assuming that since I have the sump going I have no problem cuz all the good bacteria and did is still around.

I added charcoal and ammonia bags to the fx6.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
acejock999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 400
Yeah that's the best way to keep crystal clear water
__________________

__________________
xwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank, setting up, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's Time to Start Thinking About Aquascaping & Theming Our 60 Gallon Goldie Tank... ArtesiaWells Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 238 06-05-2013 03:34 PM
FINALLY Got a New (60 Gallon Again) Tank Up & Running for my Goldies! Long Post... ArtesiaWells Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 63 04-07-2013 11:52 PM
Need help quickly! Setting up new tank ff.rice Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 40 03-29-2013 09:17 PM
Moving fish, nothing else, to larger tank auribe14 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 12-09-2011 01:21 PM
Setting up Fresh Water Tank jk315 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 09-03-2011 01:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.