Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-01-2014, 12:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

So.....what are my options if I stock my tank with African Cichlids?

Ok so I'm somewhat new to the aquarium lifestyle, I've had tanks before but they were already stocked and given to me. I aquired a 75 gallon tank and I originally planned on going with an Oscar and a few various cichlids. I am embarrassed to say this but I didn't know the difference between Africans and South Americans as far as which particular Cichlid belongs to which species, I bought gravel for my new tank and I was persuaded into buying gravel specifically for African Cichlids, supposedly helps slightly raise the pH level to a level that African Cichlids are acclimated.
Anyways I was at the time unaware that Oscars are part of the South American family and I really shouldn't have bought the gravel if I was planning on buying an Oscar. So I'm thinking I'll just stock Africans instead, so my question is this; if I decide to go with African Cichlids, what else can I add that will coexist with minimal conflict? I appreciate any help I get, I'm still a noob lol.

Old 08-01-2014, 01:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

A 75 would barely be big enough for an oscar alone when it's fully grown. Africans suitable for a 75 would be mostly peacocks or mbuna from Malawi if you want colorful fish. Here's a link that you should find useful: Aquarium Quick Reference Resources - Cichlid Keeping

Old 08-01-2014, 01:58 AM   #3

I appreciate the heads up. I know Oscars can sometimes get huge, up to 12 inches or more, just assumed that they only grow as big as their environment. I do think that I will forget about getting an Oscar and mainly stick to African Cichlids as that seems to be my best option.
Old 08-01-2014, 02:04 AM   #4