Stocking 60 gallon with African Cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Amyers22

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am fairly new to tanks and would like to stock a 60 gallon tank (14.25"L x 50"W x 55"H) with African Cichlids, Lake Malawi species. I am unsure of how many fish to stock in this size of tank. I have heard it's better to overstock cichlids to minimize aggression, but I have also heard that this is untrue. I would like to have one of each of the following:
Aulonocara Chiloelo "orange band"

Sunshine Peacock

Livingstonii

Aulonocara Maylandi Sulferhead

Aulonocara Maleri "Rubescens" Super Red

Protomelas "Ndiwe" Fire Hap

Otopharynx Heterodon "Royal Blue Hap"

Chilotilapia Rhoadesii

Ruby Crystal Peacock

Red Peacock

Aulonocara OB Peacock

Metriaclima Estherae (Albino)

This is a total of 12 fish. Is this too many for a tank of this size or too little? Also is this a good mix?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

No that's not too many. Especially if they are still young. Some of those Haps will get big, but for now you should be fine. The aggression comes with Mbuna tanks, over stocking those is recommended.

No that's not too many. Especially if they are still young. Some of those Haps will get big, but for now you should be fine. The aggression comes with Mbuna tanks, over stocking those is recommended.

When they have reached adult size will I need a larger tank or will they still be okay in my 60 gallon? I thought that the majority of them would get no larger than 5". I didn't check the sizes on all of them though.

Nibochromis Livingstoniigets to be 10"+ and is predatory. Not suitable for that tank.

Also, are you sure your tank is 4 1/2' tall?

Nibochromis Livingstoniigets to be 10"+ and is predatory. Not suitable for that tank.

Also, are you sure your tank is 4 1/2' tall?