Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-26-2013, 04:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Stressed jack dempsey

Hi all as always I have come on to my best site for advise.

I am a little new to chiclids and seem to be having a few issues with my fish. I have a fully grown Oscar with a small red devil. I was told that this would be a good pair as they were both hard fish and would be ok.

Wrong my red devil is a bully and caused my Oscar a lot of stress as he refused to defend himself. I called my LFS and they suggested adding another fish something that is equally aggressive. I added a jack Dempsey to the tank and now feel that he is on his last legs as the red devil continues to bully both fish. I added the JD 48 hours ago and he is sat in the corner looking scared. I really don't know what to do. This red devil despite being small is taking over the tank. I am worried about my JD. should I give him time to settle in or take action. What action should I take.

I have a 75l tank water conditions are spot on and I do over feed slightly to try and stop aggression. Any help would be great.

Old 08-26-2013, 06:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

The tank is way too small to house any one of those fish. Nine times out of ten the lfs will tell you anything to sell you more stuff. You should rehome all of them.

Old 08-26-2013, 07:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Sorry I ment 75g not litres.
Old 08-26-2013, 07:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

At least 2 of the 3 need to be rehomed. The jack is the only one that fits in a 75.
Old 08-26-2013, 07:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist