Stressed jack dempsey

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VOZIE

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all as always I have come on to my best site for advise.

I am a little new to chiclids and seem to be having a few issues with my fish. I have a fully grown Oscar with a small red devil. I was told that this would be a good pair as they were both hard fish and would be ok.

Wrong my red devil is a bully and caused my Oscar a lot of stress as he refused to defend himself. I called my LFS and they suggested adding another fish something that is equally aggressive. I added a jack Dempsey to the tank and now feel that he is on his last legs as the red devil continues to bully both fish. I added the JD 48 hours ago and he is sat in the corner looking scared. I really don't know what to do. This red devil despite being small is taking over the tank. I am worried about my JD. should I give him time to settle in or take action. What action should I take.

I have a 75l tank water conditions are spot on and I do over feed slightly to try and stop aggression. Any help would be great.

The tank is way too small to house any one of those fish. Nine times out of ten the lfs will tell you anything to sell you more stuff. You should rehome all of them.

At least 2 of the 3 need to be rehomed. The jack is the only one that fits in a 75.

I had a very happy Oscar in there who is fully grown and was doing really well. Then I added a small red devil and it went belly up. I got the JD to take pressure off the Oscar but simply has not worked.

Yea the red devil will terrorize any thing Maybe rehome him and see how it goes.

I've always wanted a red devil but I think they need their own tank or a 220 gallon with a pair. The Oscar and jack may work in the 75 but that's a lot of waste and you will need to watch the water quality real close.