Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2014, 03:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Substrate for cichlids?

Hey all. Almost done setting up my 55 gal cichlid tank. Just wanted to ask, "what is the best substrate?" Rock? Gravel? Sand? Please tell me pros and cons. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Drew vest6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maridia View Post
Hey all. Almost done setting up my 55 gal cichlid tank. Just wanted to ask, "what is the best substrate?" Rock? Gravel? Sand? Please tell me pros and cons. Thanks

Pool filter substrate sand is great
Pros: if washed out good, almost no clouding. A lot cheaper than LFS substrates... Buy it at lowes or Home Depot or such stores..
Cons: doesn't buffer ph, so you have to do it with such chemicals
__________________

__________________
Drew vest6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Drew vest6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 70
Pool filter sand** 50 lb bag for 12$$
__________________
Drew vest6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew vest6 View Post
Pool filter sand** 50 lb bag for 12$$

Thanks. Does it need to be deep like saltwater fish?
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Drew vest6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maridia View Post
Thanks. Does it need to be deep like saltwater fish?

Deep as in like the amount of sand? I'm not following you...
__________________
Drew vest6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 12:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew vest6 View Post
Deep as in like the amount of sand? I'm not following you...

Yes, does the sand bed need to be deep? I have a 55 gal salt and my sand bed is 4 inches in both my sump and display.
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 12:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Drew vest6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maridia View Post
Yes, does the sand bed need to be deep? I have a 55 gal salt and my sand bed is 4 inches in both my sump and display.

For fresh water it can be as deep or shallow as you like... It's purely preference on that
__________________
Drew vest6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jllarrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 93
If you're putting cichlids I would say make it deep enough for them to be able to dig around. They like to dig and rearrange the landscape so keep that in mind when adding it.
__________________
jllarrea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:10 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Drew vest6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jllarrea View Post
If you're putting cichlids I would say make it deep enough for them to be able to dig around. They like to dig and rearrange the landscape so keep that in mind when adding it.

Didn't think to say that^^
__________________
Drew vest6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:28 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,754
There is more to consider with depth then just personal preference. Deep sand beds create anaerobic zones, just as they do in saltwater tanks, and disturbing these can release toxic gases into the aquarium just as it can in saltwater.

Nice job on the Pros, but some addition Cons to think about; requires cleaning to keep debris from floating around on the sandbed. Stirring it up into the water can destroy impellers on pumps and it is far more likely to scratch the glass of the aquarium than gravel.
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, cichlid, cichlids, ich, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM
cichlids cichlids cichlids!! but what are they? mr funktastic Cichlid Discussion 57 01-31-2006 07:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.