Suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Labenator65000

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I know you guys probably get sick of posts like these. Sorry I'm still still relatively new to Cichlids, so bear with me.

55 gallon. HOB. Balanced water with good parameters for Mbuna. 4 Yellow Labs. 1 Ps.Acei. 2 Ruby Reds. 1 Elec.Blue Johanni (for now, at least). 1 Rainbow shark. All are late adolescent.

I would like to add more fish. Ideally I would like as much color variety as possible. I only purchase from LFS. I would welcome and appreciate suggestions for commonly available compatible tank-mates. ~Thanks!

im sorry, the acei needs a much bigger tank and will prob have a very unhappy life in there long-term as they are so active. the shark needs a bigger tank too in time.

with the the yellow labs can go zebras (OB is my fav), fuelleborni, peacocks. obv many others work well in that sort of tank, like occasionally auratus and bumblebees etc, but i reccomend the 1st 3 as they go well in that sort of community.

how many females do u have in the tank atm? x

Mouth-Brooder-Fanatic said:
im sorry, the acei needs a much bigger tank and will prob have a very unhappy life in there long-term as they are so active. the shark needs a bigger tank too in time.

with the the yellow labs can go zebras (OB is my fav), fuelleborni, peacocks. obv many others work well in that sort of tank, like occasionally auratus and bumblebees etc, but i reccomend the 1st 3 as they go well in that sort of community.

I love the female auratus but can't seem to get one, they always end up being male and mean as heck!!! I've had to get rid of all I've gotten. Someone told me once to stay away from fish with horizontal stripes cuz they tend to be more aggressive. I'm sure that's not ALWAYS true but so far it's been accurate IME.

Mouth-Brooder-Fanatic said: